Antigua Guatemala - April 12 to 17

Antigua is a beautiful colonial town about an hours drive from Guatemala City.
I went here especially for the Semana Santa, the holy week of Easter - because it is supposed to be something really really special... and it was.

But first to the city as such which is beautifully set at the foot of (inactive) volcano Agua:
Agua-1

Cobbled streets, coloured houses, the volcano... just beautiful:
Agua-2

street-2

Torbogen-1

Big old buildings around the main square (this one is the town hall, "Palacia de Ayuntamento":
ayuntamiento

And churches... lots of churches! This one is La Merced, built in 1548, like most of the buildings in Antigua badly damaged and sometimes destroyed by a huge earthquack in 1773 and then reconstructed:
merced

And a typical local bus in Guatemala, here in the streets of Antigua:
bus

And I also met some friends from Switzerland here in Antigua: Elena (Ex-Völkl) and Aris are here to learn Spanish... after they travelled through Thailand, Australia and Vietnam before (so much for a strange route!).
Here you see me with Aris... probably at the very moment he got Amoeba from food from a street stall. I was lucky so far even though I have mainly been eating at local street stalls.

aris-20001

User Status

Du bist nicht angemeldet.

Aktuelle Beiträge

June 26 - The end of...
Well, this is it! On June 26, exactly six months after...
Peppo - 3. Jul, 09:06
Sao Paulo - June 20 to...
Back where it all started... back in Brasil, back in...
Peppo - 3. Jul, 08:52
Bocas del Toro - June...
In the evening of June 15 I took my last overnight...
Peppo - 3. Jul, 08:38
Panama City - June 12...
Well, my trip will find and end soon and on my way...
Peppo - 3. Jul, 08:22
Cozumel - June 6 to 8
Since I heard that the divesites in Cozumel are some...
Peppo - 24. Jun, 18:07

Links

Suche

 

Status

Online seit 6686 Tagen
Zuletzt aktualisiert: 3. Jul, 09:06

Credits


Profil
Abmelden
Weblog abonnieren